Most successful practices start somewhere and that somewhere is frequently characterised by the winning of a major architectural competition. More so, many successful practices stay successful by continuing to enter and win podium positions at major international competitions.

Whilst competitions of minor repute and significance are quite abundant on the web there are only a handful of reputable recurring competition events worthy of a place on the African architect's calendar; the Dezeen Awards 2019 is one such "not to be missed" event. Two other events of note are the WAF 2019 Awards and the 30th edition of the 24H competition focusing on Mozambique. Whilst the latter are worthy of consideration the Dezeen Awards should become a fixed annual event for every African practice. The stakes are high, the costs are low and the prestige and level of exposure offered by the world's most popular and influential architecture and design magazine are, in my personal opinion, unmatched.

The Dezeen Awards were launched last year to much acclaim. The inaugural edition of Dezeen Awards attracted over 3,600 entries from all over the world with projects from 91 different countries. UK, US, China, Australia, the Netherlands, Japan, Spain, Denmark, Sweden and Canada were among some of the most successful countries, with multiple shortlisted and winning projects.

Dezeen Awards identifies the world's best architecture, interiors and design, as well as the studios and the individual architects and designers producing the most outstanding work.

Organised by Dezeen, the world's most popular and influential architecture and design website, Dezeen Awards is the benchmark for international design excellence and the ultimate accolade for architects and designers everywhere.

Dezeen Awards in 2019

In 2019 Dezeen Awards is expanding its international influence with new categories, an esteemed judging panel and a democratic entry process.

What makes Dezeen Awards different from other awards programmes:

  • low entry fees - making Dezeen Awards accessible to small businesses
  • the judges – comprising of 75 industry-leading figures
  • judging criteria – with the focus on beauty, innovation but also on the efforts they make to improve the world.
  • judging process – rigorous and impartial, providing a democratic platform for design, architecture and interiors practitioners across the globe

There are 30 project categories that can be entered in total: 10 each in the sectors of architecture, interiors and design. These include urban house, cultural building, small building, restaurant and bar interior, retail interior, furniture design and wearable design among others.

There are also 16 new categories this year: urban house, rural house, civic building, cultural building, apartment interior, restaurant and bar interior, hotel and short stay interior, small workspace interior, large workspace interior, seating design, furniture design, product design, sustainable design, graphic design and installation design.

There will also be six studio categories again, which will name the most outstanding established and emerging design talents.

A jury comprising of an outstanding panel of international architects, designers and academics, will judge Dezeen Awards categories. The esteemed panel includes Jo Noero, Ron Arad, Cristina Celestino, Frida Escobedo, Kelly Hoppen, Lyndon Neri, Marc Newson, Bibi Seck, Philippe Starck, Patricia Urquiola.

Entering Dezeen Awards
30 May 2019 is the final entries deadline.

Entry fees have been set as low as possible to encourage entries from every type of studio around the world. There are reduced rates for individuals and companies with ten employees or fewer.

Entry fees are as follows:
For individuals and companies with 10 employees or fewer: £100 per category entry
For companies with more than 10 employees: £200 per category entry
Prices exclude VAT.


Some of the 2018 winners

Winner: Lighting Design of the Year 2018 and Winner: Design Project of the Year 2018.

Hiddden Tints by Note Design Studio

Winner: Residential Interior of the Year 2018.

The STorefront

Winner: Rebirth Project of the Year 2018 and Winner: Architecture Project of the Year 2018.

Captain Kelly

Winner: House Interior of the Year 2018.


Winner: Workplace Design of the Year 2018.


Winner: Architect of the Year 2018.

Dezeen Awards website: www.dezeen.com/awards


Paragon Interface Director Claire D’Adorante won the Professional of the Year Award in the Architecture and Design Class of the Built Environment...

The Frate Sole Foundation announces the seventh edition of the International Prize for Sacred Architecture addressed to architects, who have projected a church...