South Africa : Rohan Eicker wins OpenThinkBox(tm) Design Competition

The third annual OpenThinkBox(tm) Design Competition was won by Johannesburg architect Rohan Eicker.

The awards ceremony took place at The Venue in Melrose Arch following the much anticipated 2009 Design Debate. The Student Category was won by Sergio Murray of the University of Johannesburg.

The successful event was well attended by the architectural and design professions. Architect Henning Rasmuss introduced the 2009 OpenThinkBox(tm) 2009 FirstFix concept - details of this year's competition are available from the website

The OpenThinkBox™ Design competition was initiated by Autodesk® Revit and SharpCITY over four years ago. This design competition was started to inspire architects to take a break from the day-to-day ‘hum drum’ and release their creative energy in meaningful design briefs, restoring their love and passion for architecture.

From the onset, the intention of the OpenThinkBox™ design competition briefs are fun, but at the same time address pressing social needs. This competition is open to both professional and aspiring (student) architects.