Unveiled: Members of Nigeria’s new cabinet and their portfolios

Today, after a five-month wait, Nigeria welcomes a new Federal Executive Council as President Muhammadu Buhari formally admits members of his cabinet and assigns portfolios at the Ministerial Inauguration which took place at the Presidential Villa, Aso rock.

The inaugural ceremony revealed new changes like the merging of some ministries and the eradication of others, resulting in a total of 24 ministries as opposed to the 32 ran by the former administration. President Buhari is clearly a man who is walking the talk as he did mention at one point last week, that Nigeria could not afford to run as many ministries as it had previously.

The former governor of Lagos state, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN), was allotted the huge responsibility of handling three ministries merged into one – Ministry of Power, Ministry of Works, and the Ministry of Housing, Land and Urban Development. Given his past record as a state governor where he made tremendous changes improving the city of Lagos, Nigerians have faith in his proficiency as the Minister of Power, Works, and Housing.

Below is the full list and allotted portfolios:

1. Babatunde Fashola – Minister of Power, Works and Housing

2. Udo Udo Udoma – Minister of Budget and National Planning

3. Kayode Fayemi – Minister of Solid Minerals

4. Aisha Alhassan – Minister Women Affairs

  1. Abdulrahman Dambazau – Minister of Interior
  2. Chris Ngige  – Minister of Labour and Employment
  3. Ogbonnaya Onu – Minister of Science and Technology
  4. Solomon Dalong – Minister for Youths and Sports
  5. Suleiman Adamu – Minister of Water Resources
  6. Audu Ogbeh – Minister of Agriculture
  7. Kemi Adeosun – Minister of Finance
  8. Abubakar Malami – Minister of Justice
  9. Geoffrey Onyeama – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  10. Lai Mohammed – Minister of Information
  11. Amina Mohammed – Minister of Environment
  12. Muhammadu Bello – Minister of Federal Capital Territory
  13. Adamu Adamu – Minister of Education
  14. Monsur Dan-Ali – Minister of Defence
  15. Isaac Adewole Folorunsho – Minister of Health
  16. Adebayo Shittu – Minister of Communications
  17. Okechukwu Enelamah – Minister of Trade, Industry, and Investment
  18. Usani Usani Uguru – Minister of Niger Delta
  19. President Muhammadu Buhari – Minister of Petroleum
  20. Hadi Sirika – Minister of State for Aviation
  21. Ibe Kachikwu – Minister of State for Petroleum
  22. Osagie Ehanire – Minister of State for Health
  23. Anthony Onwuka – Minister of  State for Education
  24. Ibrahim Usman Jibril – Minister of State for Environment
  25. Aisha Abubakar – Minister of State for Trade and Investment
  26. Khadija Bukar Abba – Minister of State for Foreign Affairs
  27. Mustapha Shehuri – Minister of State for Power
  28. Heineken Lokpobiri – Minister of State for Agriculture
  29. Abubakar Bwari Bawa – Minister of State for Solid Minerals
  30. Claudius Daramola – Minister of State, Niger Delta
  31. James Ocholi – Minister of State for Labour
  32. Zainab Ahmed – Minister of State for Budget

The post Unveiled: Members of Nigeria’s new cabinet and their portfolios appeared first on Ventures Africa.