Nominations open for South African Planning Commission

Pretoria - The Minister of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation and chairperson of the National Planning Commission, Jeff Radebe, has called for nominations of individuals to serve on the National Planning Commission. 

Nominations will open for a 30-day period from 10 March 2015 to 10 April 2015. 

Details on how to submit nominations, eligibility criteria and nomination forms are available at or

We need people with skills in areas such as infrastructure development, urban and regional planning, energy, agriculture and food security, education and training, health, public policy and governance, community engagement, economics, finance, budgeting and banking, ICT, telecommunications and broadcasting, business and industry, water and sanitation, science and technology, social cohesion and nation building, futures research and scenario planning, climate change and youth development,” said Minister Radebe.

The first National Planning Commission (NPC) was appointed by President Jacob Zuma in 2010 for a period of five years. 

The term of office of the current commissioners will expire in May 2015. The President intends to appoint commissioners for a further five-year period. 

With the National Development Plan now adopted and broadly supported across sectors of society, the focus has shifted to implementation. 

The focus of the new commission will be on advising government on how best to implement the NDP. It will also be charged with developing detailed plans in various sectors to drive economic growth, radical economic transformation and the sustainable development of the country.

Minister Radebe said government developed the Medium Term Strategic Framework (2014 – 2019) as a tool towards achieving the 2030 goals set out in the NDP. He encouraged other sectors to make their own concrete commitments to implement the NDP. -