SA Profession : SACAP Announces New Council

On Sunday 1 November 2009, the new Council elected Mr Phill Mashabane as President, and Ms Lula Scott as Vice-President.The new Council forms a formidable team with a wealth of experience and diversity.

The South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP) hosted a Gala Dinner in Pretoria on Friday 30 October 2009 to inaugurate its new Council appointed by the honourable Minister of Public Works, Mr Geoff Doidge, in terms of the Architectural Profession Act 44 of 2000. 

For the first time the Council is fully representative of all categories of registration within the profession, which reflects the maturing process of transformation.The advisor to the Minister of Public Works, Ms Feroza Thomas, gave an address at the Gala Dinner on behalf of the Minister. 

The outgoing Council was honoured for their contribution, and the new Council was welcomed into office for the 3rd term of Council from 1 October 2009 to 30 September 2013.On Sunday 1 November 2009, the new Council elected Mr Phill Mashabane as President, and Ms Lula Scott as vice-President. 

The new Council forms a formidable team with a wealth of experience and diversity.The outgoing President of two terms, Mr Malcolm Campbell, commented that the focus of the outgoing Council had been inward due to the transformation challenges it had faced. 

He was confident that a robust and sustainable structure had been put in place, so that the new Council would be freed up to have a more external focus, enabling them to further implement the government mandate in terms of transformation. 

In addition they would be able to effectively inform the public so that they might be better protected.The new President of SACAP, Mr Phill Mashabane noted that "It is reasonable to recognise the boundaries that were laid before our time and the work that has been carried out. We also acknowledge the path before us. 

We endeavour to traverse and knit it all to make Architectural practice and the profession at large respectable and reliable to the public and built environment practitioners and finally, to bring an understanding of architectural practice to all."SACAP's Registrar Dorothy Brislin commented that it has become critically important to build a 'learning organisation' in which knowledge systems are constantly being built on and integrated; and to embed these systems into the operational structure to ensure sustainability. 

She highlighted the importance of a clear understanding of, and buy-in to SACAP's Strategic Vision by all stakeholders, both internal and external. 

The outgoing Council has been a robust governing body that has provided a solid foundation from which SACAP can grow and flourish; to build its own sustainability and that of the architectural profession. 


Professional Members

President: Mr Phillemon Mashabane (Architect)
vice-President: Ms Paraskevy Eli (Lula) Scott (Senior Architectural Technologist)
Mr Fanuel Motsepe (Architect)
Ms Maureen Gerrans (Senior Architectural Technologist representing Draughtspersons)
Mr Dhanashwar Basdew (Senior Architectural Technologist)
Mr Rowan Ruiters (Architectural Technologist)
Mr Vusi Z. Mthimunye (Draughtsperson)

State Representatives

Mr Philip Crafford (DPW)

Ms Heléne Nienaber (DPW)

Public Representatives

Ms Anthea Houston

Prof Gerald Steyn 

Gazette No. 32552, Board Notice114 of 2009 is available for download on the SACAP website under the News section of